h1

It’s Getting Old At Inkophile

05/04/2013

Can you believe it? Inkophile is five years old today. You thought it was older? Yeah, it seems like it has been around forever. The number of page views per month has more than doubled in the past year and I hope that indicates a sizable increase in the number of people who have grown to love fountain pens as much as it represents repeat visits from my steady followers. A larger community will expand the marketplace and in turn increase the available products. That would be a very good thing.

Looking back at new acquisitions this past year, the Platinum Century B nib and the Platinum #3776 music nib were very welcome additions to my collection and handily won slots on my top five pens list. Noodler’s Purple Martin was a surprise addition to my favorite inks while Stillman & Birn moved onto my favorite journals list. The Epsilon and Zeta Series are good with pens while the other journals are lovely with watercolors, not that you can’t mix them up any way you want. For lined paper that works well with fountain pens, the Miguelrius notebook is getting a lot of use. Two inexpensive finds at Staples were the Arc Collection and the filler paper from Brazil. Both made fast friends with a variety of inks.

None of this discounts some of my continuing favorites like Rhodia and Clairefontaine paper, Levenger True Writers, Namiki Falcon soft fine nibs, my Waterman Carene stub from Leigh Reyes, Noodler’s Black Swan in Australian Roses, Diamine Mediterranean Blue, J. Herbin Lie de Thé, or Montblanc Racing Green plus so many others.

My other favorites are Inkophile visitors. Without you, this blog would have been put to rest a long time ago. You are the best!

Most viewed Inkophile image:

Related Inkophile links:

3 comments

  1. Happy Birthday Inkophile!

    Like


  2. Oooh, I haven’t stumbled upon that in the archive. I want to get a bright turquoise that leans more toward blue than green, preferably with distinct shading but I don’t feel like buying sample vials of everything that exists. How would you say Sheaffer Turquoise compares to J.H. Bleu Pervenche? Or would you recommend something different?

    Like


    • Good question. I’ve never seen Sheaffer Turquoise so perhaps someone else can answer that question. Check the turquoise color chart at The Writing Desk for a handy way to compare colors. They happen to be good people to order from, too.

      Like



Join the conversation!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.