h1

Review: BENU Scepter Fountain Pens

07/22/2021

The BENU Scepter has received a lot of attention and interest, and rightfully so. If you like colorful pens, these can’t be topped and sporting Schmidt nibs, they write well, too.

Fountain Pen Quest has an in depth review including measurements and a performance comparison between the Scepter II and the Grand Scepter X. I would concur except for the nibs.

The Scepter has a #5 medium nib that writes a bit wider than expected with significant flow. The Scepter Grand has a #6 fine nib that is perhaps slightly wide for a fine with just the right amount of flow to make it a pleasure to use. I usually like wider nibs, but in this case, the fine beat the medium for my purposes.

These pens are surprisingly lightweight. The only real differences between them are the patterns and the nib size. The Scepter I is red, blue and gold and the Grand Scepter IX is blue and pink. In my hand, the Grand was a little over-balanced due to the angle required to use the large nib. It is comparable in size to the nibs on the Platinum Century pens that I use daily, so the larger nib doesn’t deter me. It’s that I had to adjust to the balance between the nib and barrel for the best writing experience. The smaller nib on the Scepter just fit my hand from the first mark on the paper. It is such a personal thing that other writers might never even notice. Both nibs had a touch of feedback, but were still quite smooth.

The pens wrote well with Iroshizuku ink, but Noodler’s Eel Blue was a little too free-flowing for the Grand’s medium nib. So like all pens, it’s trial and error to find the best ink, but isn’t that part of the fun?

Given the brilliant colors of BENU pens, it was challenging to find inks that suited them without detracting from the stunning barrels. Colorverse Glistening Stars and Stripes worked well in the Scepter. The Grand eventually got filled with Iroshizuku yama-budo and the Scepter was complemented nicely by asa-gao. Both are deep colors without sheen or other special characteristics. Too little inventory here to find matches of that sort beyond the Colorverse ink.

As for the pen, it is eye-candy of the highest order. There are a number of color combinations available making it easy to find a BENU that is just right for you.

Note that the wide barrel end makes the cap too narrow for posting and that might make the pen a bit short for really large hands. The section is average sized, but I hold pens quite far from the nib so the threads fell under my fingers. With a light grip, this was not a deterrent for short writing sessions. There is no clip, but the hexagonal shape prevents rolling. On my cluttered desk, that is a definite advantage.

The BENU Scepter is an eye-catching pen that writes well and could make a worthy addition to your collection. Or do you already have one? If so, what do you think of it?

Thank you Luxury Brands USA for sending the Scepters and Colorverse ink. I am now firmly spoiled for any other colorful pen. In other words, none need apply.

10 comments

  1. BENU pens (mine are all broads) are spectacular writers…so smooth and wet. I love all of mine but the Euphoria I am partial to.

    Liked by 1 person


    • Buying more than one is always a good recommendation. Do the broad nibs offer any feedback like the fine and medium nibs do?

      Like


  2. I’m so glad you shared this review, Margana. The Benu pens caught my eye the first time I saw them featured in a Goulet email, and now, it looks like I may make one part of my future writing days.

    Liked by 1 person


    • Always delighted to enable my friends.

      Like


  3. I’ve been so tempted by the Benu eye candy marketing posts! I’m sure that I’ll get one someday, but it will be a matter of finding the right one at the right time. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people


    • Ha, ha. Like when the stars are aligned? You own a lot of nice pens already. Ink is more economical if you are experiencing an itch to expand your collection but don’t want to splurge on a pen. Colorverse does offer good variety and my limited use of them has been very positive. Interested?

      Liked by 1 person



Join the conversation!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.