h1

Review: Waterman Black Ink Hits All The Right Notes

09/25/2023

After twenty years of using fountain pens, I finally purchased Waterman Intense Black Ink. My usual choices are Noodler’s Black or J Herbin Perle Noir when I am in a black mood. But I purchased the bottle of Waterman for a family member and decided to give it a whirl in a Delike New Moon 2 EF to good result.

It isn’t the darkest black but varied a little in my test perhaps in part due to the nib size and controlled flow. Super dark blacks remind me of gel pen ink and for that occasion the Faber-Castell Fast Gel Z is my weapon of choice. Waterman Black is more subtly varied as is my preference in fountain pen ink. It is undemanding to use and fitting for journal entries at the end of a long day.

So far it writes on all grades of paper tested and once I get started, it is so smooth on Rhodia that I don’t want to put the pen down. Nothing finicky about it but it is giving my mechanical pencil some serious competition. Just grab it and write. It won’t displace any colorful inks but Waterman Black could become a regular in my rotation. However, don’t spread that around. My usual companions might become jealous or worse. Naughty behavior won’t be far behind.

6 comments

  1. The best things about Waterman ink, dependablity and it will not damage your pen. I have the same black and Serenity Blue – always.

    Liked by 2 people


    • Mysterious Blue, the former Blue Black, was my ink for testing pens for many years. Serenity Blue is a frequent mate for a blue Pelikan M400. Somehow I missed buying Waterman Black in my early days though its reputation was without reproach. That omission has now been remedied.

      Liked by 2 people


      • Ive been buying thier inks for the last 20+ years. The Phileas and Hemisphere were the pens that got me hooked. Using their ink was just a natural extension. The 4001 Black is my fave of all the blacks.

        Liked by 1 person


        • Good way to get started in pens. Most of my earliest pens were vintage making Waterman inks a safe choice for them. WBBk had enough color to be appealing and yet work well for business. What makes 4001 your favorite black ink?

          Liked by 1 person


          • Would you believe the smell? I like the way it writes, drys, the color, but I love the smell. I know weirdo.

            Liked by 1 person


            • Whatever makes you happy. 😀

              Liked by 1 person



Join the conversation!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.