h1

Frankly Walnut Ink From Robert Oster And Federalist Pens

09/19/2023

Federalist Pens sent a bottle of their exclusive ink Frankly Walnut from the Robert Oster Signature collection.

It flows very well in the Conklin Duragraph 1.1 stub that I have had since 2015. Not too wet as some inks can be from such a wide nib. This is definitely my kind of ink since it wrote without a skip after over a week of no use.

Swatches are good for relative comparisons. Here Frankly Walnut is shown next to three J. Herbin inks that many of you own. It is a neutral brown that leans slightly red, a fitting shade for an autumn palette. Easy on the eyes and a color that would be suitable for business as well as personal use. My Traveler’s Notebook is quite fond of it and Rhodia is also perfect as a companion. Perhaps based on how absorbent a paper is or how fast ink dries on it, the color can vary slightly. Not a deterrent but rather a charming characteristic.

There is always a slot for brown in my regular rotation and for that, Frankly Walnut will do nicely. Lucky me. I have a whole bottle to keep me happy for some time to come.

For a second opinion, read what The Well-Appointed Desk has to say about Frankly Walnut.

5 comments

  1. Liked it. I, too, have a “slot” for brown inks in my cherished everyday collection. I use either Daytone Extra Fine Chocolate or my new favorite Diamine Gingerbread with my Pilot Custom 823 in Amber. Either inks goes well with the pen.

    Liked by 1 person


    • Those are inks with which I am not familiar. Will look for some swatches. Thanks.

      Like


  2. That’s a very nice brown ink! I like the way it tends red… as you said, it does give it a very autumn vibe.

    Liked by 1 person


    • First day of autumn is Saturday though the weather remains quite warm here. Consequently, I will pretend the leaves are turning and that there is a nip in the air. Brown and burgundy inks are on my desk in anticipation. Will you modify your rotation based on the season?

      Like


      • I have an orange ink (Diamine Sunset) that I plan to use for October journal highlights, but otherwise I haven’t decided. I might have to look at my brown inks also and see what jumps out at me.

        Liked by 1 person



Join the conversation!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.