h1

Graf Von Faber Castell Ink

10/10/2014

Recently, Bert Oser of Bertram’s Inkwell sent samples of Graf Von Faber Castell ink. Unlike many lines, this one is almost thematic with its mellow colors.

The tubes containing the ink are too narrow for my pipettes and test pens so swatches made with swabs will have to do. The colors might be a tad too blue. However, any deviation is miniscule.

Garnet Red is somewhere between the discontinued Mont Blanc Bordeaux and Noodler’s Tiananmen. Hazelnut Brown is similar to Diamine Dark Brown and Moss Green resembles Diamine Woodland Green. Stone Grey is a match for the discontinued Sailor Grey and Cobalt Blue is close to Diamine WES Imperial Blue. Carbon Black looks like J. Herbin Perle Noire though slightly more saturated.

Eventually, Stone Grey and Garnet Red will become replacements for Sailor Grey and Mont Blanc Bordeaux in my collection. Nice to tick that off my To Do List.

What makes this ink line different is the harmonious selection. The lack of purple and orange leaves a hole in the range, but the six offered colors comprise a most useful palette. For many fountain pen fans, this group is all that would be needed to make a complete ink wardrobe.

According to Bertram’s, these are the key points about Graf Von Faber Castell inks:

  1. Permanent for documents
  2. Large size 75ml
  3. Not visible on the back of standard paper
  4. Non-correctable; not removable without traces
  5. UV-resistance: Color still readable after exposure to Ultraviolet light
  6. Fast drying on standard paper
  7. Resistant to certain chemicals and solvents
  8. Water resistant; writing lines still visible after exposure to water.
  9. 6 amazing colors
  10. 2 Light Fast colors Garnet Red and Hazelnut Brown

Retail is $30, but the bottle is attractive and substantial. No accidental tipping over for this design.

Consider Graf Von Faber Castell a premium ink with a commensurate price. For the permanence and resistance to chemicals and solvents as well as the color range, this looks like an excellent ink for business and academic use or anything else for that matter.

Thank you, Bert, for giving me the opportunity to play with these inks. Now I know where to go when I’m ready to purchase a bottle or maybe that will be two. I keep glancing at the grey swatch and thinking it would be just the thing for a certain rhodium trimmed demonstrator that is watching me from its box. Kismet?

My water test of Graf Von Faber Castell ink.

 

6 comments

  1. Isn’t it “stone” grey?

    Sorry just wanted to clarify. It’s definitely on my wish list for sure, but that brown is looking very seasonally appropriate to me now.

    Thanks for the swatches!

    >

    Like


    • It sure looks like “stove” on the tube, but I edited the post.

      Like


  2. I had no idea these inks were permanant types! This changes everything.

    Like


    • Just to see for myself, I made some swatches and applied water with a paintbrush to see what would happen. I’ll post the results when the paper is dry, but the ink held up surprisingly well.

      Like


  3. Are you sure all six inks are permanent? I just passed by a Faber Castell shop in Tokyo and only four of them were said to be permanent. The non-permanent ones were the brown and the red.

    I have no experience with these inks. Too expensive in my opinion.

    Thanks for keeping your blog active.

    BT

    Like


    • Hi Bruno,

      Thanks for posting your query. The statements about the ink’s properties are from Bertram’s Inkwell. I will post my water test results today in a new post. They won’t be scientific, but should suffice on the subject of resistance to water. The red and the brown did hold up less well, but still better than many inks. Whether that will be adequate, depends on the use.

      Now to see whether a photo or scan will show my test results better.

      MM

      Like



Join the conversation!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.