h1

Chinese Pens: The Final Chapter

08/08/2023

Three years ago and after considerable research, I bought my first Chinese fountain pen, a Delike (Majohn/Moonman) New Moon 2 bent nib from Amazon. It was such a pleasure to use that for a time it was the only pen on my desk and for over two years, it was the only pen I used in my daily journal.

The fine and extra-fine that I purchased were not in the same league and only the bent nib arrived in perfect condition. The extra-fine worked well after the nib was replaced and is smooth for such a narrow nib.

I have since purchased several Jinhao 82s and one Jinhao 100 Classic. Not a dud in the bunch though posting changes the balance and makes them slightly smoother especially with light contact.

I have filled thirty pages of notebook paper plus over 400 pages in my journals so these pens have had plenty of use.

The Jinhao 82 would benefit from a metal ball or spring in the converter to keep the ink flowing, but otherwise mine have performed well.

The fude takes practice since it has a very large bent nib in comparison to the New Moon. The latter should work well for anyone interested in just a little line variation. It is reputedly hand tuned which might explain the smooth tip.

By accident I discovered that the finials on the Jinhao 82 can be removed with just a twist. Yep, they can be detached allowing you to mix and match. As if making inks and pens suit each other, now we have finials, too?

Let me know if you buy either a New Moon 2, a Jinhao 82 or 100. Was your experience as good as mine or did I get incredibly lucky?

If you want to see more photos or price these pens, here are some Amazon links to what they offer. Note that Inkophile is an associate and might earn a tiny commission if you purchase through these links.


4 comments

  1. The cap toppers come off the Jinhao 82 as well. Just be careful, since they hold the clips on.

    (L0veTheMoon on Flickr)

    Liked by 1 person


  2. I have a Jinhao 82 just like the one in your last picture. I much prefer the nib of the Jinhao 80 (Lamy 2000 knock off) which has written smoothly and just wet enough, whereas the 82 always makes me feel like pressing harder (maybe I need to tune it!)

    Liked by 1 person


    • Sounds like a flow issue. I can no longer press hard on a nib so matching ink to pen has become more important. Herbin inks have been more likely to skip in the 82 on paper like Tomoe but work well on copy paper that is more absorbent. Maybe trying a different ink will help. So far Noodler’s, Sailor and Waterman have been consistently good. It’s a trial and error kind of thing. Let me know what happens.

      Liked by 1 person



Join the conversation!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.