h1

New Classic Inks From Platinum

02/17/2017

Today Luxury Brands announced a new iron-gall ink from Platinum called Classic Ink that will begin shipping the end of February. MSRP will be $25 for a 60 ml bottle.

To quote Platinum:

Fountain pen inks that are produced using traditional methods have many times been replaced with an ink that is made by mixing dye inks due to their time-consuming production techniques. Meanwhile, Platinum Pen is currently the only company in Japan that manufactures blue black ink in a classic way.   The ink color that is bright when you start writing becomes gradually black. It is also highly water resistant and suitable for permanent preservation. This time, we have paid close attention to the process of changes in color of the classic ink, and have released six new colors with the aim to enhance the joy of using fountain pens. Emphasis on the shading has been placed, offering a rich deep writing.

Kinda gives new meaning to “fade to black”.

The colors are attractive and shading is always an interesting property. My Platinum pens are excited to have a new mate or two. Not that they require special ink, but they have performed extremely well with Platinum inks and I anticipate no less with the Classic line. Whenever I get an opportunity to put one of them to the test, I will post the results.

Bruno Taut has the backstory if you would like to know more.

Caveat or not

A number of years ago, I wrote a post about iron-gall ink voicing mild uncertainty about whether it would be a high maintenance product. In the intervening years, it has proven to be on par with other inks. However, good pen hygiene is always the best policy to keep fountain pens happy and minimize cleaning time.

10 comments

  1. Reblogged this on Beth Treadway and commented:
    I look forward to seeing the colors in actual use.

    Liked by 1 person


  2. I can’t wait to try Khaki and Citrus.

    Like


    • Good choices. They appeal to me, too. 🙂

      Like


  3. I want one of each! All the colors are right up my alley.

    Like


    • Ha! You’re so easy. 😉 But, yeah, especially compared to some releases in recent years, these colors look just right.

      Like


  4. Forest, Citrus, and Sepia are calling my name.

    Like


  5. I love *-black inks, and am very excited to try these! Blue-Black was my favorite color when I was using cartridges only in my Waterman pen, but it’s the Lavender-Black that appeals the most of the ones above. And I have been looking for a nice, more waterproof ink – sounds like this might be a great option!

    Like


  6. I’m curious about Forest, Khaki and Sepia!

    Like


  7. Ooo this is exciting- I love Platinum inks! Any word on retailers who will be able to carry these inks?

    Like



Join the conversation!

