Mint Ink


For a hit of mint, either one will do.


  1. Ooh, mint. I’m usually a turquoise-y girl, but mint runs a close second. The Diamine is so so pretty.


    • Mint is a good color for summer and goes well with soft turquoise and peach. J Herbin Bleu Pervenche and Diamine Peach Haze do it for me. What would you pair with mint?


      • I tend to think sea colors with mint, so probably something like a soft lavender or pale blue, but a rose or peach would definitely look good. Sorry I can’t think of any colors off the top of my head. I don’t have an ink collection that would help me yet.😛 But I really love peach, so now I will look up the Peach Haze


  2. Such spring/summer-y colors! I confess that I am yearning for spring inks, myself, despite the fact that we are still experiencing snow here, at least up until last week. I am still trying to find a good pen of mine that works well with Diamine Soft Mint. It seems to look great in everyone else’s pens but mine. At this time of year, I tend to favor the yellow-greens like Diamine Meadow. But, I confess that I am also enjoying the newly released Pelikan Edelstein Aquamarine. Being a March baby, and appreciator of all things Aquamarine, I have been pleasantly surprised with this one. And, it’s a nice one for spring, too. 😉


    • Belated Happy Birthday, Karen! Did you get anything pen related?

      The weeds think it is spring so who am I to gainsay Mother Nature and like you, I’m ready for a new ink wardrobe to suit the season.

      Because Mint is a soft color, I like it best with a wide nib that has good flow. The TWSBI Eco isn’t up to the task nor are any of my Lamy 1.1mm italics. It might get paired next with the Conklin Duragraph 1.1 that has a lovely wet flow. My sample is nearly gone so while I am not hoarding the last of it, matching it with a very suitable pen would be best use. Meadow is in a Pel M215 italic. Wish it had a wider nib to show off the color better. Which pen do you load with Meadow?

      I haven’t seen the Edelstein version of Aquamarine yet, but the swatches are pretty. Is there an aqua ink you prefer over others?


      • Hey, Margana! Thanks for the belated birthday wishes! I did treat myself, maybe a bit too much, at the Long Island Pen Show, which was also in March. The new inks purchased were Caran d’Ache Divine Pink, Kaweco Paradise Blue, Franklin-Christoph Loden, and Franklin-Christoph Tenebris Purpuratum. Enjoying all of them.

        About Diamine Soft Mint, I have enjoyed it in my TWSBI Micarta which has a medium stub grind from Deb Kinney. That pen has good ink flow, but maybe too much. Other than that pen, I have not found another that really works with it, thus no happy medium. As far as Diamine Meadow goes, it seems to work nicest in a medium italic and larger, although it has surprisingly performed very well in wet writing fine nibs like my Platinum Kanazawa Maki-e pen. It’s such a happy color.

        Pelikan Edelstein Aquamarine has been a really nice surprise. I find it to be the perfect balance of both green and blue (for me, at least). It may be saturated enough to use in finer nibs, but I haven’t gotten there, yet. Prior to this one, and this could easily be my #1 pick at this point, I had been enjoying Diamine Aqua Lagoon and Diamine Marine the most. Both have been fantastic performers in medium nibs and larger.


        • Karen, your new inks hit the color wheel well and combined would make a lovely rotation by themselves.

          Soft Mint and Meadow are newish for me and we are just getting acquainted. Marine is my current crush at that end of the spectrum. It works well in the Nemosine 0.8mm, but might get upgraded to something wider for its next outing. Perhaps a music nib or for even more drama, a brush pen.😀


          • Diamine Marine is simply lovely in every respect. A brush pen? Nice idea! I hope you post some of your adventures with that combination. =)


            • Will do.🙂


Join the conversation!

