Spring And A Lively Ink Palette


Chancing upon a written sample of Rouge Caroubier got things started. Quickly, the list grew to this first pass at spring inks:

  • Diamine Meadow
  • J Herbin Rouge Caroubier
  • Sailor Jentle Souten
  • Noodler’s Dostoyevsky
  • Akkerman #22 Hopjesbruin
  • Diamine Peach Haze
  • Sailor Peach Pink
  • J Herbin Violette Pensee

The group ought to get winnowed to five at most, but it is hard to eliminate even one of them.

Five pens were already filled. So rather than waste ink, the palette got changed to Sailor Yama-Dori, Noodler’s Dostoyevsky, Diamine Mint, Diamine Violet, and J. Herbin Cafe des Iles. Those aren’t the inks from my initial list, but they will do.

Rouge Caroubier and Meadow are looking through the pen drawer for suitable partners. Oh, wait, we have winners. Meadow chose the Pel M215 and Caroubier chose the Platinum Nice Pur. Peach Haze is flirting with the amber Conklin Duragraph. Peach Pink remains undecided so that one will have to wait. It’s a pretty color that deserves a clear demo with a wide nib like the TWSBI 580. Perhaps at the next fill. Souten is sulking because his favorite pen, the Pel M215, isn’t available. It will all get sorted eventually.

My three pen rotation has turned into a bouquet of color. What a lovely way to celebrate spring!


  1. I LOVE your blog. Your attitude and opinions are refreshing. And the inks say Spring to me also.


    • Thank you! Happy see you, Pamela! Which inks do you put into use for spring?


      • Denise, what do you like about Cross Violet? Color? Properties? I’ve never used that brand and am curious about it.


        • I really like the shading–it reminds me a bit of the Sailor Kobe inks or the sample of L’Amant I was able to get from a friend. This is the first time I’ve used a Cross ink (I bought it purely because of the color swab I saw online). I love purple.


          • Good to know since I’m a purple fan, too.


  2. I just got the Cross Violet, and I have to say that it rivals some of the Sailor inks I like so well, even in a pen with an F nib. It looks like it should be more expensive than it is. I do love my Sailor Sky Blue, too. It’s such a cheery color.


Join the conversation!

