New Acquisitions And Adventure


Have you become leery of taking risks? With all of the opinions to be read online, there seems to be limited willingness to make less than perfect purchases. Adventure has been diminished giving way to a need for protection against disappointments and mistakes. Where’s the fun in that?

Certainly, no one wants to waste money on bad products like pens that don’t write or ink that doesn’t flow. However, using reviews and online debate to make “safe” choices eliminates the surprise of discovering something that is a perfect fit for you if not for others.

Thanks to some very generous suppliers and friends, my ink collection grew significantly this past year. Even so, I purchased a few bottles including colors about which I knew nothing. With the exceptions of Stipula Calamo Saffron, and Diamine Meadow and Marine, none of my choices were exceptional. Not disappointing, but they just weren’t exciting. Of the eight pens I’ve purchased in the past year or so, only half will get regular use. However, in future one of them might get combined with just the right ink and paper and make it to my list of favorites. Ever the optimist, eh?

On the reverse, too often an ink or pen that got raves elsewhere did not earn accolades from me. In no way does that disparage the product or reviewer. It is simply that my experience, expectations and needs were different.

So here’s the deal. Be intrepid. Take some chances. If you want someone to pave the road ahead, new acquisitions can be rather bland. However, if you can become less risk averse and take a few chances with purchases, you might discover something special. True of inks and pens, but life as well. I love pen folk and would be delighted to learn about your great finds even more than my own.


  1. One of the great joys of hunting pens out in the wild is you never know quite what you’ll find. Apart from the occasional real bargain you also find yourself picking up a vintage pen you’ve never heard of before and finding a whole new area of collecting. It introduces that element of risk and randomness that makes life fun.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I took a risk in getting a Sheaffer fountain pen. I was just not sure about the metal barrel or the shape. It is now one the pens that I find gets the most use and I enjoy using it. It’s amazing what you find when you take a bit of a chance, and we need different views on pens and inks. We are all different and will be naturally enjoy different things.

    I also didn’t know how much I would enjoy using orange inks, as it is one of my least favorite colors. I just try to stay more open-minded these days. Makes for a very colorful journal


Join the conversation!

