On My Desk – February 2014


Well, sort of. These are the inks in use today from the assortment of pens on my desk. The tally is telling with seven of nine in the blue family. The nibs are with one exception in the wide range and only the Platinum and Lamy nibs were not tweaked in some way. The paper is the outstanding Tomoe River from PaperForFountainPens.com. It might be unfair that it makes every ink and nib look good, but that’s hardly a complaint.

March is the month in which green ink invariably gets a twirl. This year it will be either J. Herbin Lierre Sauvage or Iroshizuku Shin-Ryoku or possibly both. Now for the pen. Italic or flex? Which would you choose for green ink?

The ink colors could be more saturated and the paper is actually a warm white, but adjusting the scan might make it less honest. So no adjustments this time.


  1. My recommendation for a green ink is Pelikan Edelstein Aventurine. It’s in that same family of greens as Lierre Sauvage and Shin-Ryoku, but it hits all the right notes for me. I have been wanting to try DeAtramentis Green Tea, and just might this season.


    • I might have a sample around here. Will have to look for it. Better to go with something on hand given March is only two days away. Yikes!🙂


      • Believe me, I am thinking green too! I have so many greens to choose from really, but in my recent ink sample haul I picked up a sample of Diamine Delamere Green. I may try that one for now. =)


Join the conversation!

