h1

Hooked On Color

10/13/2013

If nothing else, I am a color-addict. Over the weekend, I indulged that fancy by making swatches from the watercolors in my secondary, fun palette. It was a good opportunity to practice with a larger brush, a #10 round, on a small piece of paper.

With the exception of Winsor & Newton Scarlet Lake, the paint comes from Daniel Smith. The Winsor & Newton box is only 5″ x 2.5″ and takes up so little space, it has become a fixture on my desk. Some days when I have no time to paint, I leave the box open just for the fun of gazing at the colors. Am I a cheap date or what?!

Winsor & Newton Palette

Watercolor Swatches

2 comments

  1. I have this palette and love it! I want to create a custom palette by switching out some colours. What half pans did you use? I can’t seem to find any that fit this palette.

    Like


    • Glad you like the palette. The half pans came from Daniel Smith a number of years ago. If you still have the Winsor & Newton pans, cleaning them of old paint and reusing them is what some of my friends do. Which brands of pans have you tried?

      Like



Join the conversation!

