Rohrer & Klingner Alt-Goldgrün Ink Is Special


Rohrer & Klingner Alt-Goldgrün is special and here is why.

Rohrer & Klingner Alt-Goldgrun

Rohrer & Klingner Alt-Goldgrun

The turquoise ink, Sailor Sky High, looks very pretty next to Alt-Goldgrün. Note that it does not separate into color components though it does look quite brilliant. Alt-Goldgrün is not unique, but it is uncommon in revealing its true colors. Inks that separate in this fashion have a depth that gives them special appeal and often a very loyal following.

Rohrer & Klingner inks are carried by AmazonJet Pens and several other online retailers, but the company website is worth a visit, too. They have been in business for over 100 years. Their products continue to be made by hand and with the exception of Sepia, the writing inks can be mixed to create additional colors.

My only quibble is that the caps can be ill-fitting. Not a deterrent if you keep bottles in the upright position and insure the cap is free of ink. Otherwise, a bit might drip down the side of the bottle. Folex rescued my carpet so no permanent damage was done.

My collection includes nine of the eighteen inks of which four or five would be on my list of favorites. That is high praise indeed.


  1. A favorite brand of mine as well. Verdigris is my go-to color.


    • My first two R&K inks were Verdigris and Alt-Bordeaux. Can’t go wrong with either one. Another plus is the price at $12 for 50ml which is relatively reasonable. Not too shabby these days.😉

      Do you use other colors? Is there one you would recommend for my wishlist?


      • Cassia & Scabiosa are interesting if you can tolerate bright.


        • I like Scabiosa but haven’t tried Cassia. Maybe in my next order…


  2. I agree with you wholeheartedly. For me, there are greens and then there’s THE green—Alt Goldgrun. An ink that’s never been out of my rotation.❤


  3. I have Blau Permament in my Pilot Custom 742 Falcon at the moment – flows pretty well in this sometimes finicky nib. I own Alt-Goldgrun, Verdigris and the Blau Schwarz Limited Edition. I have Scabiosa in the mail to me from the Goulets. I am a fan of the R&K inks🙂


  4. Alt Goldgrun is a beautiful green color. I picked up my bottle from the Andersons at the 2013 LA pen show, and it has been in constant use by me, despite the other close-enough doppelgangers like Noodler’s Army Green, and Sailor Jentle Epinard, and PR Avacado to some degree.

    I have RK Alt Goldgrun loaded in my Lamy Nexx M (olive green cap) fitted with a 1.1 nib, at the ready to be deployed at a moments notice. And I find it strikes up a good friendship with Noodler’s Apache Sunset. The colors pair very nicely on the paper.

    The other RK inks I really became fond of (not because of the color itself but the other qualities), are RK Salix and Scabiosa. Both are iron gall inks and they have very good performance on cheaper papers. They never feather. Even if I’m using them in a wet gusher of a pen. They take a while to dry, but never feather or bleed through.

    I tried out a sampler vial of Cassia, but didn’t find it that noteworthy. I read posts on FPN that it exhibits a green colored sheen, but I wasn’t able to see it in regular writing. I saw some of the green glitter if I splatter a lot of ink on the page. Otherwise its a very loud purple indeed.

    Thanks for the post.


    • Alt-goldgrun and the music nib have kept me busy for the last two days. Can’t get enough of them. Seems I’m not alone.🙂


  5. […] and comments on the inks: Tokiwa-matsu, 54th Mass, syo-ro, Alt-goldgrun, Ambre de Birmanie, Orange Indien, Terre de Feu, Verde […]


Join the conversation!

