A Few Updates To My Pen & Ink Faves


Sometimes a little organization is in order. So while waiting for the electrician yesterday afternoon, I updated my Favorite Inks and Favorite Matches. The lists are still too long but you wouldn’t believe how many I did not include. Being an inkophile and narrowing a list of favorites is hard work. Honest!

What are your favorite inks or pen/ink matches? Anything you’d recommend I try?


  1. Oh yeah! My favorite (so far) is my charcoal colored Lamy Safari, fine nib, with Private Reserve Steel Blue ink. 3rd fill in a row on this one!


    • Nice combo! Sounds like you are truly hooked.🙂


  2. My favorites two opposites:
    – Kaweco Sport Luxe & Kaweco Blue-black ink.
    – Pelikan Toledo 700 & Pelikan 4001 Royal Blue ink.


  3. Cross Apogee, F nib, Private Reserve Black Cherry
    Lamy 2000, XF nib, Private Reserve Midnight Blues
    Noodler’s Piston Filler, fine-medium nib, Noodler’s Lexington Gray


  4. Hi,
    Please try any of your ebonite pens (if possible a semi-flex or flex nib) with Hakase Real Sepia Ink, use am off-white paper … and enjoy the experience with a tea cup(no worrie if by mistake you splash the paper with the tea, the ink is “water”-proof)
    Take a look at my wall for writing examples of the ink


    • There is a discussion about Hakase including a few posts mentioning Hakase Real Sepia Ink at FPN. Thank you for reminding me of it. In your photo Real Sepia looks very saturated with a lot of red to the brown. What an intense color!


Join the conversation!

