Variety Makes Writing Spicy


Not THAT kind of spicy but the sort that makes picking up one of the pens on my desk produce a wee jolt of anticipation if not inspiration. But sometimes I have to work at getting things under control. So over the weekend I bathed fountain pens…lots of them.  Below is what remains in my rotation after cleaning every pen that did not have a good quantity of ink in it.

Fountain pens on my desk now

  • Lamy Safari Custom Stub with Montblanc Racing Green
  • Lamy AL-Star EF with J. Herbin 1670
  • Lamy Vista 1.1 mm italic with Rohrer & Klingner Morinda
  • Pilot Elite ‘Isaac Newton’ F with Rohrer & Klingner Solferino
  • Pilot Elite ‘Socrates’ F with J. Herbin Lierre Sauvage
  • Pilot Elite ‘Socrates’ F with Noodler’s #41 Brown
  • Pilot Elite F with Rohrer & Klingner Magenta
  • Levenger True Writer F with J. Herbin Gris Nuage
  • Namiki Falcon SF with J. Herbin Eclat de Saphir
  • Sailor Sapporo F with Iroshizuku Ku-Jaku

Fountain pens waiting in the wings

  • Montblanc 220 OB
  • Waterman Carene Stub
  • Lamy Safari custom fine cursive italic
  • Levenger True Writer B
  • Sailor 1911 F
  • Pilot Black Stripe F

Inks looking for a mate

  • Rohrer & Klingner Alt-Goldgrun
  • Sailor Sakura Mori
  • Sailor Waka Uguisu
  • Diamine Mediterranean Blue
  • Iroshizuku Yu-Yake

Obviously my tastes are all over the place especially when you take into account all the other writing implements close to hand like four mechanical pencils, five fiber tips from Pentel Sharpies to Pitt Artist Pens and two Levenger True Writer Rollerballs with fiber tip refills. Oh, there are two Pilot Pocket Brush Pens in a case, one with Pilot black ink and the other refilled with J. Herbin Lie de The. Then there are a number of dip pens at the ready just in case only a few words in a color are needed or I am so impatient with a new ink that a quick dip is necessary to assuage my curiosity.

Whew! Now, after all that I have a question. I do test a lot of inks so that justifies some of that excess but do any of you feel the need for such variety on your desk at one time? If so, do tell. What is on your desk today?


  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Cynthia Niklas, JD, mabeloos, Penned and Papered, Sam and others. Sam said: Yes, me too! RT @inkophile: Variety Makes Writing Spicy to an Inkophile – How About You? http://wp.me/pfSKv-w2 […]


  2. Oh wow……..just WOW. I currently have the following inked:

    Sailor 1911 F with Visconti Blue
    Edison Pearl XF with Private Reserve Cosmic Cobalt
    Visconti Rembrant F with Noodlers LeColour Royale
    Namiki Falcon SF with Diamine Havasu Turquoise
    Pilot Bamboo F with Iroshizuku Syo Ro
    Aurora Style F with Diamine Violet

    and..just cleaned Laban F with Iroshizuku Yama Budo

    And I thought I had too many pens inked at once, but obviously you are way ahead of me.

    I try to keep it to a number I can carry with me in a pen roll because I take all my inked pens with me when I go out – you never know when the urge to write may strike.


    • That’s a nice rotation and about what I whittle mine down to for summer. Still with an abundance of ink and paper to test, it helps to have a variety of pens and inks ready to go to work. Ah, the trials of being an inkophile


  3. Your question:

    Whew! Now, after all that I have a question. I do test a lot of inks so that justifies some of that excess but do any of you feel the need for such variety on your desk at one time?

    My answer: What excess? The only reason I don’t keep more fountain pens on my desk is that I only own 7 . . . so far.


  4. You have a bigger rotation than I do! My currently inked pens are:

    Pelikan M400 white tortoise, 0.7 cursive italic nib, Montblanc Racing Green
    Pelikan 100 EF, Herbin Poussiere de Lune
    Lamy 2000 EF, Diamine Damson
    Pilot Pluminix (with an F nib from a 78G), Montblanc Racing Green

    I don’t like to have too many pens inked at once.


  5. I have a large rotation of pens as well, 12-13 inked at a time. I love having the variation in color and line. I have used the Med. Blue in a Lamy Vista EF and had great success. It is a really nice bright, light blue that looks great even with a thin line.


  6. I keep trying to whittle down the number of pens that I have inked at any one time, right now it’s sitting at 18. I’m trying not to fill any new pens until I get that down to 10, but it’s hard. The only pen I always keep inked is my Edison and it takes MONTHS to use up it’s ink supply.


    • If you can keep a pen in use for months, you just aren’t writing enough!😉


  7. Life-saving with minimal writing


Join the conversation!

