h1

Time for a Purple Fix

07/31/2009

Do you have days when color rules your choices? Even if it’s black ink in a black pen, a harmonious duo can be just the thing to set the right tone for your day. Not that a vibrant contrast doesn’t have its place. Think vivid orange in a black pen or true green in a yellow pen. These combinations are lively and make writing fun. However, there are days when I just want my tools to be an extension of thought rather than a statement of fashion. This week I needed purple.

Why purple? It combines the stability of blue with the vigor of red and is associated with creativity and magic, all good stuff for a writer. Since I only own two purple pens, one of which could pass for silver and has never been inked, the choice was easy.

Levenger True Writer in Periwinkle

Levenger True Writer in Periwinkle

Levenger discontinued the periwinkle version of its True Writer some time ago so I was fortunate to acquire one from a private seller. Because it has so many shades of purple in its marbled barrel, including at its darkest what passes for a blue-black, this TW works with a variety of inks. The smooth medium nib may not add anything to my penmanship but it is very easy on my hand so I can write longer at a session.

Pen in hand I browsed though my swatches for an ink with just the right color and characteristics. The two most likely candidates were J. Herbin Violette Pensée and Diamine Violet. For a change of pace, I opted for the Diamine though the colors are nearly identical.

Diamine Violet

Diamine Violet

So for days I’ve been enjoying my purple fix especially on Rhodia grid paper and in an Apica 6A10 journal. How about you? What inky duo made you happy this past week?

17 comments

  1. Wow, what a gorgeous fountain pen! 🙂 My duo for this week is my Waterman’s W5 green stripe executive with J Herbin Lierre Sauvage ink. Don’t think I’ve stopped smiling for days!

    Like


    • The W5 with Lierre Sauvage sounds minty. 😛 Any photos?

      Like


  2. Photos and review are on my To Do list! 😉 Will post something over at Future; Nostalgic soon (hopefully).

    Like


    • Please post a link when you do. 🙂

      Like


  3. Will do. It will be my pleasure. 🙂

    Like


  4. A Cappucino-colored Visconti Van Gogh Maxi with Private Reserve’s Shoreline Gold ink and a Montblanc Writer’s Edition Poe [I still can’t believe I own this pen!] with a very broad B nib using Herbin’s Pousserie de Lune. The Herbin is a “dusky” purple shade and simply floats off the nib looking as if Poe himself might have used the ink.

    Like


    • Both duos sound gorgeous. That MB ‘B’ must be especially nice with Poussiere de Lune. Great shading and flow with that ink.

      Like


  5. What a beautiful pen and paired with that Diamine Violet, it make a great combo. I believe that I am going to have to search for that TW now. I love purple and have some Diamine Imperial Purple that would go great with it as well.

    Like


  6. I forgot to put in my combo of the moment. I have some J. Herbin Bleu Nuit in my blue Esterbrook J with a 9556 nib. It is wonderful to write with at every opportunity that I have.

    Like


    • J. Herbin Bleu Nuit in a blue Estie J sound like a pretty match and a pen I would like to add to my collection someday, too. I have Bleu Nuit in a periwinkle Lamy Al-Star and that’s a good combination, too. In fact it will be up for review soon. It only got sidetracked by my craving for purple though now that Ryan is sending a broad nib for a TW, I just might wait to use that for the review. What a good idea you’ve given me!

      Like


  7. Bleu Nuit is a fantastic ink and the shading I get off my broader nibs is incredible. It’s such a classic denim color and seems to go with everything.

    Like


    • Well, that explains things. My Lamy Al-Star EF doesn’t seem to do Bleu Nuit justice so a “chunky monkey” is exactly what I’m waiting for to give it a proper test. Either the nice, fat True Writer ‘B’ that should be here soon or the Waterman Carene stub due in a few weeks ought to be just right. 🙂

      Like


  8. […] presents Time for a Purple Fix posted at An Inkophile’s Blog, saying, “Inkophile is about fountain pens, ink, and the […]

    Like


  9. That’s really nice mixture of inks. It has a really subtle, but bright tone. Does anyone else have another cool ink mixture combination?

    Like


  10. […] Namiki Falcon SF with Diamine Violet […]

    Like


  11. […] Diamine Violet – Purple that flows very well. Perfect for wide nibs. […]

    Like



Join the conversation!

