h1

J. Herbin Meets G. Lalo

04/23/2009

G. Lalo of France makes very high quality stationery, envelopes, writing tablets, and cards, the best sort for making a good impression and a wonderful writing experience. Consequently, I was delighted to find two lovely pastel writing tablets at the bottom of a recent package from Karen Doherty of Exaclair. After a little sorting and cleaning, six Lamy italic nibs and one Pelikan custom italic received fills of J. Herbin ink in preparation for a meeting with Verge De France stationery.

The degree to which paper can affect nib performance as well as the interaction between ink and paper color are clearly evident.

G. Lalo Verge De France Stationery Comparison

G. Lalo Verge De France Stationery Comparison

The rose paper took ink very well and made the colors vivid and attractive.

G. Lalo Verge De France Rose Stationery

G. Lalo Verge De France Rose Stationery

The pistache paper resisted the same ink resulting in skipping, poor color, and reduced legibility.

G. Lalo Verge De France Pistache Stationery

G. Lalo Verge De France Pistache Stationery

However, different pens and inks on the pistache paper produced much better results.

G. Lalo Verge De France Pistache Stationery

G. Lalo Verge De France Pistache Stationery with Additional Inks

Paper can play friend or foe, enhancing or tempering colors in both attractive and unpleasant ways, frustrating even the nicest nibs and inks. Initially the G. Lalo stationery looked at best unpredictable until further experimentation uncovered three “just right” pairings. By finding suitable inks and pens for this laid finish, pastel paper, Verge De France will join my stationery wardrobe and bring some welcome color along with it.

In addition this experiment has made me wonder if there are other brands of paper that I may have dismissed too soon. Perhaps one of my latest favorite pen and ink duos would be perfect on a paper for which I could find nothing suitable only a few months ago. Me thinks it is time to visit the bottom of my paper drawer just in case it holds some buried treasure.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

11 comments

  1. What beautiful handwriting! Thanks so much for the great review! I especially like the Bleu Azur and Bouquet D’Antan on the Rose paper. Even the Gris Nuage showed up well on it! 🙂

    Like


    • Thank you, kookychick! Gris Nuage review in the works. It’s become a real favorite especially with that Lamy 1.1mm nib. 🙂

      Like


  2. Very interesting to note that the different colors took ink differently. You’ve written a lovely review.

    Have you since tried other colors of the paper?

    Your photos are super!

    Like


    • Thank you. Glad you found the review useful. No, I haven’t tried other colors but I really ought to and post the results. Have at least a dozen reviews in the queue first. Not complaining – just planning. 🙂

      Like


  3. […] G. Lalo Verge de France Rose Stationery – Works will all my pens and inks. […]

    Like


  4. […] Named in honor of Senator Scott Brown from Massachusetts, the color is a deep, dark sepia. No flash but a rich color that shows subtle shading with the right nib. The color leans yellow rather than red though not pronouncedly so. That makes it a neutral brown that won’t be mistaken for black. Excellent on any cream or buff paper, it will also work on colors like those of G. Lalo Verge de France Pistache or Rose stationery. […]

    Like


  5. I wonder if you can help me. The Ambre De Birmmanie is a little light for my Art paintings ? What do you suggest a stronger ink that I can add to give a darker tone off Sepia or Brown.
    When I us a Black Ink I am able to use a water brush to shadow my work.But I would very much try to use a stronger sepia .
    Thank you for help in this matter
    Salmond

    Like


    • I have no experience with mixing inks but Diamine Sepia might work as a stand alone color for your needs. Diamine Sepia

      Like


  6. I see that you wrote this review in 2009. This happens alot to me b/c I am only now getting to some of these essays, sites, etc. I hope this makes some sense given its late arrival. I find it very, very surprising that your rose verge is different from your pistache verge! The textures, which to my mind govern how a nib behaves, b/c that’s where the two meet, should behave the same. It introduces still another variable in a hobby that already has, for me, plenty of those.

    Like


    • What can I say? t is likely the paper came from different batches which explains the variation in performance. Discovering a great combination of paper, ink, and pen is always a delight. The next bottle of ink or pad of paper might be quite different so enjoy good combinations when you find them.

      Like


  7. […] Lalo is another laid paper that is good with fountain pen ink as you can see in my review from 2009. Both brands of paper do best with a fine nib but there are exceptions like the two Mike […]

    Like



Join the conversation!

