h1

J. Herbin Vert Empire Charms an Esterbrook

05/02/2009

Almost a year ago I wrote a review of J. Herbin Vert Empire. But only a week ago did I find a terrific pen for it, an Esterbrook Deluxe with a 9128 nib.

The shading is made for flex nibs and there is even outlining on some brands of paper. The dark green color is really versatile and perfect in my daily journal. I hardly used anything else all week which is extremely rare for me.

This is just the beginning. Every flex nib in my collection will get a turn until the best of the best emerges. If that sounds like work, rest assured it isn’t. It will be a lot of fun. Hey, I’m an inkophile, remember?

J. Herbin Vert Empire in an Esterbrook Deluxe

J. Herbin Vert Empire in an Esterbrook Deluxe

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

4 comments

  1. This is an excellent choice for a green-black. How do you think it would do with a F or XF writing nib? I’m looking for a shade leaning more toward black than green, and this one has some nice dark shading in it.

    Wish I could find a sample to try out in my Namiki capless – F nib, to see if it’s a good everyday ink


  2. I found an ink sampler at Pear Tree Pens! Choose 4 Colors – $4.95. Enough of each color for a decent test.

    http://www.peartreepens.com/Fountain-Pen-Ink-Samples-p/samp.htm


  3. Glad you found the Pear Tree program. That’s exactly what I would have suggested.

    Vert Empire works very well in my Sailor 1911 fine. In fact they were paired for at least six months of the past year. That’s high praise indeed. I should think it would be just as good in a VP.

    Let me know how it works for you. I’m always interested in what others have to say about the products I mention.


  4. [...] time to discover two of these pairings and the third was entirely by luck. Oh, if you like flex, Vert Empire shades beautifully in an Esterbrook ‘J’ with a 9128 extra-fine flex nib. So there is [...]



Join the conversation!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,162 other followers

